Moving day

20Jun09

Quick post, and then I’m off to bed. I have to work in the morning and then take my dad to dinner afterward.

So, I finally decided to get off my happy ass and get an apartment. I knew before starting that the process could possibly take for-fucking-ever because I have shitty credit (working on cleaning it up, but it’s a process and takes time) and figured that I’d probably end up going to a couple different complexes to eventually settle on some crappy apartment that is livable. So I started the search for a nice 2 bedroom with a washer dryer connection. Wednesday I went and applied for one that I had looked at – 2 bedroom, 1 bath, no washer dryer connection – but it’s pretty big. The leasing agent calls me about an hour after I gave her the application and starts out really chipper then kind of levels out… “Is this Asha? Ok, Do you have a minute? Ok, I was calling you back because, uhm” At this point I’m thinking “Can she just go ahead and say that they didn’t approve me and she’s sorry so that I can chalk the app fee up as a loss and get over it?” But then…. “Because I wanted to let you know that we DID approve you, and we approved you for the minimum deposit. So I need you to come by here with some check stubs and also, bring the admin fee to hold the apartment until your move in date because I only have one 2/1 left, and I can only hold it for you until the end of the day.” I was so not expecting that.
Me:”Are you like, seriously serious right now? Like for real? Because it’s not nice to play with people’s emotions”
Leasing Agent: “Uhhh, yea. I mean if you come down here I can show you the print out. But can you bring the other stuff so I can finish your file and hold your apartment for you? Because it’s a pretty nice apartment, and I wont have another one available until like October I think.
Me: “Give me like…. 10 minutes. I have to do a celebration dance. But I’ll be there.”
Ok, so I didn’t tell her I had to do a celebration dance, but I did do one. I’m flippin excited. I LOVED the apartment when she showed it to me – and I don’t have to settle on anything. Moving day, ladies and gentlemen, is July 3rd!

No Responses Yet to “Moving day”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

