Usually I Like Surprises…

08Jul09

Monday evening I got a surprise…..

The Donor called me. Not only did he call me, he was friendly. Wait – there’s more too. He asked if he could keep The Monkey that night. I was shocked and amazed.

Tuesday morning I went to pick her up and he handed me a little envelope and three cotton swabs. Oh yes. That’s right. He went out and got a home collection DNA test. Now, I’ve been telling him since before The Monkey was born that if he really needed to know that they could have a DNA test done, because I don’t need proof that she’s his child. Anyway I swabbed the inside of my mouth, filled out the envelope and gave it back to him. They sent it off Monday afternoon, so he’ll have his answer back in 8-12 weeks.

I’m not sure what caused this – but if the DNA test is what it takes for him to finally decide to spend time with her and be there for her like he should, then I’m all about it. I think the fact that he’s going through a nasty custody battle with his ex-wife may have something to do with it, but I’m not too sure.

No Responses Yet to “Usually I Like Surprises…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

